…in the punchbowl

2006.08.06

I hate summer

Filed under: punchbowl — Matt @ 8:17

There. I’ve said it. It’s out in the open for the whole world (or the up-to 62 people WordPress tells me read this tripe) to gaze upon in wonderment.

The realization has come to me slowly. I’ve never really been a big fan, but I wasn’t ardently anti-summer either. To be honest, I now think the only thing that kept summer on a neutral footing in my mind the three-month break from school. Well, I last experienced that three-month-break trick in 1996. Even that wasn’t a full break–I, like most of you I’m sure, spent the summer working. As a result, summer has lost whatever glow it had.

What are the negatives for summer? Well….

  • Heat. Don’t like it. We routinely see temps over 90°F; growing up I rarely saw such a thing.
  • Humidity. This is the second part of summer’s combination punch. When partnered with its buddy Heat, Humidity graces us with heat indices over 100°F. The humidity isn’t even that high here. I have a good friend who grew up in New Orleans — his hands get dry and crack in Maryland because the air is too dry.
  • Food. I prefer hot dishes, soups, stews, and the like. These are not summer-time fare.

I’d like to provide more, but I have to go get ready for the baptism of our friends’ son. Nothing thrills me like getting dressed up (which invariably means long sleeves, cretins) for an afternoon ceremony in an old church on a day with an expected high of 90°F. And no, thinking of it as 32°C doesn’t help.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

